• img
  • img
  • img

Tímea Acsai

The Hungarian flutist Timea Acsai comes from a family of musicians.

Already during her studies, she played in several notable orchestras including, among others, the Berlin Philharmonic, the SWR Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart, the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne and the Konzerthausorchester Berlin. She has played under the baton of many world-renowned conductors such as Sir Simon Rattle, Mariss Jansons, Iván Fischer, Alan Gilbert, Gustavo Dudamel, Kirill Petrenko and Andris Nelsons.

After receiving her bachelor’s degree with Prof. Lóránt Kovács at the Ferenc Liszt Music Academy in Budapest, she continued her studies in the class of Prof. Andrea Lieberknecht in Hannover and Munich,where she received the Meisterklassendiplom (Soloist Degree) in 2015.During her studies, she won a scholarship at the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, where she had the opportunity to learn from many distinguished musicians and play in several world-famous concert halls, including the Berliner Philharmonie, Suntory Hall in Tokyo, the Kultur und Kongresszentrum in Luzern (KKL Luzern), Salle Pleyel in Paris and the Festspielhaus in Salzburg.

She has developed her flute playing at several masterclasses with well-known flutists, such as Emmanuel Pahud, András Adorján, Henrik Wiese, Gergely Ittzés and Dejan Gavric.

Timea is a prize winner of several national and international flute competitions, including : 1st prize winner of the notable 5. Beijing International Music Competition, Beijing - China; 1st prize winner of the 1st European International Flute Competition, Thessaloniki - Greece; 2nd prize winner of the Prague Spring International Flute Competition, Prague - Czech Republic; Finalist of the 8. Kobe International Flute Competition, Kobe – Japan.

The young flutist performs as a guest artist with the SWR Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart and Konzerthausorchester Berlin, among others, and performs frequently as a solo and chamber musician. Her solo performances have brought her to Hungary, Switzerland, Czech Republic and Slovakia.